World Disco Soup Day 2019 in Lüneburg

For the third time the international youth association Slow Food has organized the World Disco Soup Day the 27th april 2019. In approximately 40 countries young women and men used unmarketable vegetables from local farms and prepared dinner together, accompanied by music and dances.

Also in Lüneburg we wanted to point the way against the massive waste of food and show consumers how simple it is to value food instead of wasting it.

The Lüneburger Schnippeldisko (remark= chopping disco) took place in the evening of the 27th of April at mosaique, the house of cultures, in Lüneburg. Thanks to the exceptional equipment all of the 113 kg of saved groceries were utilized and prepared. Most food was obtained thanks to the cooperation with Foodsharing and from the local weekly market. With the help of the guests and our cook Niklas we set up a great three-course menu.

Everybody eat one’s fill with salat, ofen vegetables, broccoli soup and fruit salat. We even managed to save so many groceries that each of our 30 guests was able to take some home. The remaining food was then brought to the Lüneburg Fairteiler (remark: a distributing place from the Foodsharing initiative) to give others the chance to have a share.

Author: Elisabeth Frank (translated into English)

Please follow and like us:
error

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

World Disco Soup Day 2019 in Lüneburg

Am 27. April hat das internationale Jugendnetzwerk von Slow Food zum dritten Mal den World Disco Soup Day ausgerichtet. In knapp 40 Ländern nutzten junge Frauen und Männer an diesem Tag nicht marktfähiges Gemüse von lokalen Höfen und bereiteten daraus ein gemeinsames Essen zu, begleitet von Musik und Tanz.

Auch in Lüneburg wollten wir ein öffentliches Zeichen gegen die massive Lebensmittelverschwendung
setzen und Verbraucher*innen zeigen, dass es sehr simpel ist, Lebensmittel wertzuschätzen statt sie
zu verschwenden.

Die Lüneburger Schnippeldisko fand am Abend des 27. Aprils ab 18 Uhr im mosaique, dem Haus der
Kulturen, in Lüneburg statt. Mit der dortigen einzigartigen Ausstattung als logistische Voraussetzung konnten unsere 113 kg gerettete Lebensmittel, welche wir zum größten Teil durch eine Kooperation mit Foodsharing erhalten haben sowie vom Lüneburger Wochenmarkt, optimal verwertet und zubereitet werden. Mit Hilfe der zahlreichen Gäste haben wir und unser Koch Niklas ein erstklassiges Drei-Gänge-Menü auf die Beine gestellt.

So konnten wir uns an Salat, Ofenwurzelgemüse, Brokkolisuppe und Obstsalat satt essen. Es konnten sogar so viele Lebensmittel gerettet werden, dass jeder der 30 Gäste sich noch Obst und Gemüse zum eigenen Verzehr mit nach Hause nehmen konnte. Der übrig gebliebene Rest wurde in den Lüneburger Fairteiler gebracht, um auch alle anderen Menschen an diesem Essen teilhaben zu lassen.

Autorin: Elisabeth Frank

Please follow and like us:
error

Kommentar hinterlassen

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.